Captain Fucking America!

I am so down with the Captain America film (now in development).  Cap is a classic and I’ve grown surprisingly more trusting of Hollywood producers as of late regarding comic book properties, as they have apparently (and finally) realized that our child hood heroes are to be treated with respect (See: Batman Begins and The Watchmen)

Furthermore, I am actually feeling very optimistic about Chris Evans, whom I admittedly second-guessed when he was first announced and these screen shots go a long way to sooth my fears of drastic and unnecessary rewrites of traditional Captain America lore.

Like many of my comic-nerd counter parts, my foremost concern regarding a Captain America film treatment was the era.  Captain America is a World War II hero -not Desert Storm or Iraqi Freedom or any other bullshit.  And now, at long last, I am willing to breath a sigh of relief as these pics (along with an array of leaked clips all over the internets) prove that his classic 1940’s origin remains intact.

And yes, these are HYDRA soldiers (below)…

Captain America; Fuck yeah!

2 Responses to “Captain Fucking America!”

  1. O man, I’m so stoked about this movie now that you’ve confirmed it takes place in the correct timeframe. I’m also excited about Thor, but I remain cautious in regard to how they’ll deal with him being a god.

    • Yeah, I agree. Thor is great on paper but how do you treat a super-hero/god on the big screen? Will his power be confined to the hammer? Will the villain be a god? …perhaps Loki? And within the context of the Marvel universe, he’s like the end-all savior. It kind of negates super villains across the board. Who gives a shit if Iron Man or Spider Man or the Hulk are having trouble with some puny mortal douche when there’s a fucking god on their side? The only restriction I can see is in his anti-war views. He may simply refuse to intervene in other people’s problems.

Leave a Reply

